Confusion

by Lucinda Poulsen

Sketch.png

I was inspired by all the geometric shapes I see around me these days. I began combining the shapes together, linking at the edges. This reminded me of the different sections of a human brain. I photographed and layered the same image, rotating each one to exaggerate depth. I changed the exposures in each image and created clean and rough parts throughout the image to show change.

Most things that begin simple end up into a cluttered mess of ‘confusion’, we tend to turn quite simple ideas into something much bigger. This was a vision that started with how I feel my mind can exaggerate and blow up if I don’t express my emotions. This is why the piece has light and dark, bold and soft. Everyone has the ability to be confident but afraid. The shapes have a sense of joy so I turned the piece monochrome to contrast and help illuminate the idea of despair in all of us from time to time.

Don’t be afraid to be confused. Try to remain permanently confused. Anything is possible. Stay open, forever, so open it hurts, and then open up some more, until the day you die, world without end, amen.

― George Saunders, The Braindead Megaphone

